love & beauty with DAVID HORVITZ

david horvitz is a dreamer, blogger, adventurer, artist, book maker, polaroid taker, extraordinary person that you really must know. we came across him when he was touring with xiuxiu & could not get enough of the beautiful simple way his brain works. so ahead: get lost in his words & ideas. join his mailing lists. fall in love. we dare you.

what makes you feel wonderful? I think the world and being is itself wondrous. It’s easy to forget that. But there is a moment when you wake up before you fully enter “reality” when your mind is still dreaming, and conceptualizing life and death is such an absurdity and everything is weighted down in a kind of wonder. That feeling should be sustained at all waking hours.

if you are having a sub-par day, what do you do &/or say to make yourself feel good again? I try to accept all things as things that exist, and that I should not deny or reject anything. Like, if I’m feeling sad, I don’t try to deny it. I just accept it as a way of viewing and interacting with the world. However, if it is stress, or if I am really hectic in my head, I feel that is something I generate myself, and then I try to clear my head and ease things.

where do you think love hides? It hides under rocks and behind clouds, and on the back sides of islands that you can only see from airplanes or boats. And also on the top of people’s heads, inside a bowl of rice that’s been in the refrigerator for a few weeks, and on the tail of dogs. And sometimes on trains when you are lost, or in the sun when it sneaks into your eyes.

when do you feel most loved? When someone yawns and puts their head on your arm.

what do you think is the most beautiful thing about the city? Millions of lives living at once.

what is your favourite rainy day activity? The rain.

what do you think is the most beautiful thing about people? They are alive.

when you hear the word “beautiful” what image immediately pops up in your mind? I will close my eyes. Now I will ask who is across from me (Ooxe) to say the word beautiful out loud and I will write exactly what I see. Here it goes: It depends on who is saying it. I hear a song with the word beautiful in it. What comes to mind is in the context of the song. It is the context that beautiful is used. So it is always different.

when you hear the word “love” what sound resonates in your ears? The voice of who said it.

anything else you’d like to share? A cup of tea to slow down the world while you are going as fast as you can.

FIND HIM: website, flickr, tumblr, xiuxiu blog

One thought on “love & beauty with DAVID HORVITZ

Leave a comment